Genesis Girl: Review

25721439.jpg

Title: Genesis Girl (Blank Slate #1)

Author: Jennifer Bardsley

Publish Date/Publisher: September 27th/Month9Books

Pages: 280

Format: Paperback – I was provided a free eARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: YA – Sci-fi/Fantasy

Goodreads/Amazon

Eighteen-year-old Blanca has lived a sheltered life. Her entire childhood has been spent at Tabula Rasa School where she’s been protected from the Internet.

Blanca has never been online and doesn’t even know how to text. Her lack of a virtual footprint makes her extremely valuable, and upon graduation, Blanca and those like her are sold to the highest bidders.

Blanca is purchased by Cal McNeal, who uses her to achieve personal gain. But the McNeals are soon horrified by just how obedient and non-defiant Blanca is. All those mind-numbing years locked away from society have made her mind almost impenetrable.

By the time Blanca is ready to think for herself, she is trapped. Her only chance of escape is to go online.

rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256

Let’s be honest. Most of us are obsessed with technology, or at least, know the possible side-effects written on the invisible warning label of our smartphones. Once I read the synopsis for Genesis Girl and saw that it follows a girl who has been shielded from technology her whole life (also known as a Vestal), I knew I had to read this.

I loved being in the Genesis Girl world! Blanca was such an easy protagonist to follow, and she never annoyed me, which is something very hard to find in YA sci-fi. I loved all of the side characters, as they were very great towards the plot. That being said, the relationships were somewhat hard to believe, because they seemed too instant, but they were written amazingly.

Tabula Rasa, the school where Vestals are raised, was so cool to read about! The atmosphere was very pleasant, and very bright, which I loved. On the other side of that, I also loved the technology aspect. It was all futuristic, high-tech, and beautifully written, which really impressed me. I am dying to see how the story plays out in the next novel.

Genesis Girl was never slow because it was so action-packed. I was biting my nails on nearly every page, terrified of what new twist Bardsley was going to put into play. Jennifer has such a beautiful way with words. Genesis Girl will pull you in, play with your heart, and leave you breathless.

Did I love Genesis Girl?

Yes, I loved it. Of course, I loved it.

Five out of five stars to Genesis Girl by Jennifer Bardsley.

Drawing (3)

One thought on “Genesis Girl: Review

Leave a Reply

