The Haters: Review

26095121.jpg

Title: The Haters

Author: Jesse Andrews

Publish Date/Publisher: April 1st, 2016/Amulet Books

Pages: 352

Format: Hardcover – I was provided an advanced review copy /via the publisher/ in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: YA – Contemporary

Goodreads/Amazon/Barnes and Noble

For Wes and his best friend, Corey, jazz camp turns out to be lame. It’s pretty much all dudes talking in Jazz Voice. But then they jam with Ash, a charismatic girl with an unusual sound, and the three just click. It’s three and a half hours of pure musical magic, and Ash makes a decision: They need to hit the road. Because the road, not summer camp, is where bands get good. Before Wes and Corey know it, they’re in Ash’s SUV heading south, and The Haters Summer of Hate Tour has begun.

In his second novel, Andrews again brings his brilliant and distinctive voice to YA, in the perfect book for music lovers, fans of The Commitments and High Fidelity, or anyone who has ever loved—and hated—a song or a band. This witty, funny coming-of-age novel is contemporary fiction at its best.

rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256

Jesse has done it again! I loved Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, but The Haters was even better!

Our narrator, Wes, was so authentic and funny. I often found myself laughing out loud, and smiling at the pages. Jesse’s characters are so easy to connect with, which is such an important thing that every book needs. I cannot comprehend how much I adored Wes’ friendship with Corey. Their friendship felt genuine and true, and I just loved the way the author wrote them. Ash (the girl Wes and Corey tour with) got on my nerves a bit, but I got over that whenever a joke was made (keep the jokes coming, Jesse. I love them.)

I loved the road trip part of The Haters book and every trouble they encountered along the way. I felt like I was at every gig with them, and I felt like I was apart of the band. I loved how their performances were written. Although I am a huge band nerd, (a flute player in a jazz band? It’s a thing.) I learned some more things I can apply to my daily jamming.

I learned a lot about freedom, friendship, and love, which made this story. Jesse Andrews has written another ground-breaking novel that will make you laugh, smile, and love.

Five out of five stars to The Haters by Jesse Andrews.

Drawing (3)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

