The Keplar Project: More than a review

 

image
Note: This cover is not final and is subject to change.

Title: The Keplar Project

Author: Sarah Jones

Publish Date/Publisher: N/A

Format: Manuscript /sent via author/

Genre: YA – Dystopian

Before you read my review, make sure to check out Sarah on all of her social media!

Instagram.com/askseekknock

Instagram.com/LiteraryCanary

ThroughtheRough.blogspot.com

AskSeekKnockReviews.blogspot.com

Goodreads.com/askseekknock

Goodreads.com/SarahReneeJones

 

 

image
Note: This synopsis is not final and is subject to change.

How far are you willing to go to protect the ones you love?

For Sariah Kent, the ends of the Earth are just the beginning.

The Commander is cruel, he has made the Republic of Prospect a living Hell and now he wants more. More power, more land, a planet of his own to dictate. But in order to do that he needs lab rats, human ones, to test out the most promising planet his scientists know of, to see if this planet is survivable… and who better to do that than criminals?

When Sariah Kent and her two best friends are caught for vandalizing the Commander’s home there is a price to pay. She knows that her options are few and that a public hanging at the Gallows awaits her. Sariah isn’t one to beg or put up a fight and has accepted her fate but when the Commander proposes an ultimatum the three friends are faced with a problem bigger, worse, than the Gallows. The Commander tells Sariah and her friends they can either live on death row for five years, or take the place of the citizens who were chosen to participate in an experiment, the Keplar Project. A project which involves banishment to the foreign planet, Keplar-518e. When Sariah sees her little sister’s name on the list of citizens chosen to participate, she and her friends have to make a choice. Choose to have the extra five years, or go in the place of their family members to a planet where they may die in minutes.

rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256rating-star-256

I was so excited when I started beta reading The Keplar Project (TKP). The whole idea of new planets and adventure really appealed to me. Although I was a beta for TKP, I still connected to the story as a reader.

I read TKP a total of three times and each time only made me love the story more.

All of the characters were so unique, each bringing something to the story, whether it was a small joke, a big smile, or an evil laugh, TKP was erupting with liveliness. The multiple POVs really kept the plot moving fast and were always such a great insight on the characters.

Sarah’s writing was smooth and never left me confused. The plot line was so detailed and well thought out, really making the story speak. Each scene was perfectly formed into a beautiful world that I couldn’t get enough of. I often found myself getting lost in the beautiful words of The Keplar Project.

The Keplar Project by Sarah Jones has such great potential and I cannot wait to hear of its future success!

THE CHARACTERS AND MY THOUGHTS

While searching Sarah’s blog for every detail I could find about The Keplar Project, I came across character descriptions for some of the main characters. So below, you will find a description of some of the characters (all descriptions from Sarah’s blog,) pictures from Google based on Sarah’s description, and my thoughts on those characters!

 

image
Sariah Kent

Sarah’s Description:

“Dirty blonde hair and brown eyes. Medium height. She is the type of girl who rolls with the punches. Some might say she is a leader type, others might say she is reckless. Crime: Vandalism…and a few other things..oops!”

My thoughts:

Sariah was such a strong-willed main character who was determined right from the start. She never left me bored, always keeping the story entertaining and open. Sariah was good to others and never wavered in personality. Although she could use some more character development, she was nearly a “perfect” main heroine.

 

image
Taaria Kent

Sarah’s Description:

“Dirty blonde hair and brown eyes. She is a Keplar Project sibling. Little sister to Sariah. Her personality is spunky and ambitious. She loves her older sisters more than anything!”

My thoughts:

Taaria was such a loving character towards her family. She was very determined (much like her sister) and very open. I would love to know more about Taaria, and feel more of her voice would be great in the plot.

image
Nixon McCoy

Sarah’s Description:

“Black hair which curls at the tips and Jensen Ackles green eyes! Mysterious personality. Observant. Crime: unknown. (of course I know what it is! lololol)”

My thoughts:

Nixon (Nix) may sound like the generic “broken inside” character, but he was the opposite. He was mysterious, yet open. Observant, yet ignorant. Quiet, yet loud. You get to know so much about him through a couple chapters.

 

image
Luke Cramer

Sarah’s Description:

“Tall, Brown hair and eyes. Snarky personality. Some would call him the class clown, others would say he is a pest. Crime: Contempt and Disorderly Conduct.”

My thoughts:

Luke was amazing. He was funny, keeping the plot light-hearted. Almost as mysterious and Nixon, he left me thinking on his ordeal and his thoughts.

WHAT? A SONG?

So, as above I mentioned I basically stalked Sarah’s blog. Well, I found that she wrote a song for one of Sariah’s older sisters, Seera. Seera’s song is absolutely beautiful and I can’t get enough of it, so let’s enjoy it together!!

“Seera’s Song (Written by me, so ya can’t listen because it’s not an audible thing.)”
All my sister’s
With all their bright lights
All my sister’s
They’re shining so bright

All my sister’s
With all their brown eyes

The space ship takes flight
Away into the night
We’re on our way now
We’re on our way now

My head is on your shoulder
We’re growing much older
And when we get there I’ll be 23

All my sister’s
With all their bright lights
All my sister’s
They’re shining so bright

All my sister’s
With all their brown eyes

we will reunite.

Five out of five stars to The Keplar Project by Sarah Jones!

Drawing (3)

One thought on “The Keplar Project: More than a review

Leave a comment