Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon – Review

img_7931Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon (The Balance Keepers #1)

17282769 (1).jpg
Goodreads /Amazon/Barnes and Noble

 

Publish Date/Publisher: September 23, 2014/ KT (an imprint of HarperCollins)

Format/Pages: Hardcover/352 pages

Genre: Middle Grade – Fantasy

After following a mysterious map into the woods and then under the woods, eleven-year-old Albert Flynn learns he’s a Balance Keeper—someone with special magical skills for fixing problems in three underground Realms at the Core of the earth. His new job is important; if the realms fall out of balance, the world above could be in great danger.

Albert and his Balance Keeper teammates Birdie and Leroy arrive in the Core not a moment too soon. There’s an Imbalance in the Calderon Realm and it’s threatening to bury Albert’s hometown of New York City in a mountain of ash.

The three must train hard completing mental and physical challenges, but above all, they must harness the power of their Tiles—unique superpowers given to each Balance Keeper. So far, Albert’s mastered the art of not mastering his Tile….

With the situation in Calderon growing worse every day, can Albert, Leroy, and Birdie restore balance before New York is destroyed forever? Will Albert master his Tile before it’s too late?

img_7982

In 2014 I pre-ordered this book from Amazon and made the stupid mistake of not reading it until this year. This book was AMAZING! I could compare Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon to Harry Potter, but that would not bring this book justice.

I was hooked right from the start. Our main character, Albert Flynn, was so adventurous and curious, making the story fast-paced and full of fun. Leroy and Birdie (our other main characters) made me laugh a lot, and that’s something we need a lot more of in fantasy books. Even though the characters were only 11, they were very mature when they needed to be, and had great character development (the best I’ve read in MG Fantasy.) The side characters were almost as well written as the main characters, and I loved their interactions with everyone. All of the characters had such great emotion and something special that helped the plot move.

The whole entire story was thoroughly detailed and bursting with great imagery. I could clearly see everything Lindsay Cummings was describing. Her writing was beautiful and I could not get enough of it. The way she described creatures was astonishing, and I felt like I could look out my window and see a Guildacker fly by, or see Hissengores slithering up my window. I had to constantly resist the urge to look on the next page because I was so into the story. There were no holes in the plot, and it all ran smoothly, creating a great reading experience. Cummings had my heart racing on nearly every page, and my imagination going wild. I had such a great time in this world, and I cannot wait to dive back in.

Five out of five stars to The Balance Keepers: The Fires of Calderon by Lindsay Cummings, and all of my heart the amazing characters and the best fantasy world.

Drawing (3)

The Realm always provides the Means.

Leave a Reply

